Market Your eBook: Ereader News Today

entThis week I opted to try promoting my book through Ereader News Today.  They send out a daily email to their 400,000 members advertising 1-3 ebooks and provide a link to your book on Amazon.  Their service is strictly for Kindle users.

To get promoted in one of ENT’s emails you have to agree to two things:  lower the price of your book so that their members are receiving a deep discount and pay ENT 25% of whatever sales you make that day.

For me, that meant lowering the ebook price of The Wandering King from $3.99 to .99 cents.  Not sure yet what they will charge me, but I can see that over their one-day promotion I received approximately 270 ebook sales.  I’m guessing I’ll owe ENT something like:  270 x .99 = $267 x 30% Amazon royalty rate = $80 x 25% fee = $20.  Twenty dollars is a negligable price to pay for getting my book into 270 additional readers’ hands.  Plus, their fee is coming out of new sales, so it’s not really costing me a dime.

ENT also has a Facebook page where they encourage authors to interact with their members.  By doing so, ENT claims it helps get your book noticed.  I posted 2 messages there.  Whether it helped increase sales, I have no way of knowing, but I figure it didn’t hoit.

All in all, I’ve been quite happy with ENT’s service, and have noticed that even after I raised the price back up to $3.99, I continued to get a spike in sales, possibly from their members who spotted the email after the promotion.

If your primary goal is to make money, ENT may not be the way to go.  But if your goal is to get read,  ENT can help immensely.  I also have 270 additional word-of-mouth advertisers out there promoting my book and 270 potential reviewers that I may never have found otherwise.

bookbubThere is similar service called BookBub.   Like ENT, they offer to send out an email promoting your book to their subscribers.  What’s different is that:  (1) they’ll provide links to Amazon, Barnes & Noble and Smashwords, (2) you don’t have to discount your book price, and (3) you do have to pay a fee for their service.

The price BookBub charges is based on the number of subscribers they have in your book category and the price of your book.  For instance, they have 430,000 historical fiction subscribers.  If your book is free they charge $200, less than $1 they charge $400, $1-$2 they charge $600 and over $2 they charge $1,000.

If I were to keep the price at $3.99 and to receive a similar number of sales that I got through ENT, I would spend $1,000 and end up making $800.  Odds are, at $3.99 instead of .99 cents, I’ll get less sales, so it could end up costing a pretty penny.  Even if I were to lower the price to .99 cents, and even if I received 270 sales, it would end up costing over $300.

Might sound foolish, but I am determined not to spend money marketing my book.  So for me, I don’t see where BookBub makes sense.  If others have tried it, I would love to hear about your experience.

2 thoughts on “Market Your eBook: Ereader News Today

  1. cmsgardnerblog

    Just wondering would this be allowed by Amazon if your book is on the exclusive KDP Select? Sounds a bit tricky. Do ENT take their cut out and then pay you the balance or do you have to pay them when (or before) you get paid from Amazon?

    Like

    Reply
  2. Stephen Marte Post author

    I pulled my book out of KDP Select some months ago so that I could also market it through Barnes & Noble, Smashwords, Sony, etc. ENT is strictly for Kindle ebooks, so I don’t think they’d want authors to get in trouble with Amazon. Even if my book was in KDP Select, I don’t see where advertising it through ENT would be violating any of Amazon’s rules. As I understand it, if you’re in KDP Select, Amazon has exclusive rights to your book, so you can’t sell it through Barnes & Noble. If you’re not in KDP Select, the only rule I’m aware of is that Amazon doesn’t want you selling your book cheaper somewhere else. If I’m missing something, please let me know.

    ENT sent me an email saying they would send me a bill 9 days after the promotion. It hasn’t been 9 days yet, so I haven’t seen their bill. So their billing really doesn’t coincide with Amazon’s royalty payments. As I recall, ENT wants payment through PayPal.

    Hope that helps!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

